## HATS 2019 Professional of the Year Awards

by Ken Philippart Images by Nishanth Goli

The Greater Huntsville Section participated in the Huntsville Association of Technical Societies (HATS) 2019 Professional of the Year (POY) Awards Banquet on June 20 at the Huntsville Botanical Gardens.

All societies belonging to HATS were eligible to nominate individuals in the POY, Young Professional of the Year (YPOY) and Society of the Year (SOY) categories. Eight societies submitted nominations this year.

As a member of HATS, the section submitted Senior Member Jill Brown for AIAA's POY nominee and Young Professional Lauren Badia in the YPOY category. The Greater Huntsville Section, winner of the 2017 SOY Award, was again nominated for SOY.

All nominees were recognized with plaques as the POY or YPOY for their respective organizations.



Mike Feltman from HATS presents Jill Brown with the AIAA POY plaque with nominator Ken Philippart.



Lauren Badia receives the Roark Award from namesake Bill Roark while Mike Feltman from HATS and Section Vice Chair Nishanth Goli look on.

One person was selected as the overall HATS YPOY, renamed the Bill Roark Award this year. The section's very own Lauren Badia was named overall HATS YPOY, the first recipient of the newly named Roark Award.

One society POY was selected for the Joseph Moquin Award. Trevor Bowers from SMTA was selected as the 2019 recipient.

In the final category, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers was chosen as the 2019 SOY.

The Greater Huntsville Section congratulates all winners and also thanks Nishanth Goli and Scott Prichard for organizing the section's participation in the awards dinner.